About
Early in 1944 – the Railways formed another team and played as Railways No. 2. One Sunday in 1945 a meeting was held on the verandah of Fred Hanses’ house in Romeo St. It was decided to change Railways 2 name to avoid confusion hence Southern Suburbs Sports Club was formed.
With its first office bearers being President – Fred Hansen, Treasurer – Les Winton and Secretary – Sylvia Cocking. The club entered the Football competition in 1945/1946.
The Railway and Post Office Hotel were the meeting places for Southern Suburbs Sports Club. Owned by Mr. Tom Noble (after whom the main bar in Souths is named).
In 1955 a name change saw Southern Suburbs Football Club emerge with Rugby League Football being the prominent sport. Mackay Junior rugby League Club was formed in 1966. Souths was one of the original clubs and to this day has a very strong Junior Rugby League Club.

Nearby PlayMakers
Discover more PlayMakers in South Mackay

